Community Profile

Cibola County, NM

Cibola County occupies approximately 4,539 square miles in the northwest region of New Mexico, and is the state’s youngest county, established in 1981. It is bordered by McKinley County to the northwest, Sandoval County to the northeast, and Bernalillo and Valencia Counties to the east, Socorro and Catron counties border to the south and Apache County (Arizona) to the west. The county is mostly rural and has one city, one town and 20 localities; the city of Grants is the county seat. This county is home to three Native American tribes – the Pueblo of Acoma, the Pueblo of Laguna and the Ramah Chapter of the Navajo. Grants and Milan’s elevation of 6,460 feet is a climate that offers an average high of 70 degrees with a low of 42 degrees at night. The cities are located at the foot of Mt. Taylor, an inactive stratovolcano, which was named...Learn More »